Free online courseBeginner Makeup by Katie Pheneger

New course

4h20m of online video course

Quality content and selected for your learning.

Certificate

Download your digital certificate of course completion after watching all course videos.

Exercises to train your knowledge

Many of the courses available have exercises to help with learning.

Free lifetime access

This course is free today and always will be, from start to finish you will pay nothing.

Course comments

There are no comments yet for this course.

Watch the 1st video of the course

Share

Evaluate course

Go to certificates

Report a problem

Course content

0h37m

Beginner Series - Beginner Makeup Kit

This video is intended to help you know where to start if you want to begin wearing makeup. I will go over the basics needed for a full face of makeup and some recommendations of products. Listed below are all the items needed for your basic kit and the specific products I mention. Remember, you don't have to get the products I mention, I just want to give you a guide. Have fun!

Look for tutorials where I show how to use each of the items in your kit.

Beginner makeup kit items:
Skin Care - Cleanser, Moisturizer, Sunscreen, and Makeup Remover
Eyes - Eye primer
- Eye shadow palette with 3 - 4 colors (neutral shades to match skin tone)
- Eyeliner pencil in brown or black
- Mascara
Face - Tinted moisturizer and/or powder foundation
- Concealer
- Face palette with blush, bronzer, and highlighter (optional, you can just use blush)
- (optional) translucent finishing powder (recommended if Combination/Oily skin type)
Brows - Tinted brow gel and/or Brow pencil in a shade to match hair color
Lips - Tinted lip balm or sheer formula lipstick
Tools - Pencil sharpener
- 5 brushes - Eye shader, Eye contour, Eye liner, Large fluffy face brush, Small fluffy face brush
- Velour Puff
- Brush Shampoo
- A bag to hold it all

Products mentioned:
Skin Care - CeraVe
e.l.f. Supers Collection https://www.elfcosmetics.com/the-supers-collection/
Aveeno
Eyes - e.

0h32m

Beginner Series - Beginner Eye Tutorial

The first Tutorial for my Beginner Makeup series. I will show you how to use your eye shadow, eye liner, mascara, and eye brushes.

Beginner Makeup Starter Kit video: https://youtu.be/1cFveqE10k8

Items needed to follow along:
Eyes - Eye primer
- Eye shadow palette with 3 - 4 colors (neutral shades to match skin tone)
- Eyeliner pencil in brown or black
- Mascara

Tools - Pencil sharpener
- 3 brushes - Eye shader, Eye contour, Eye liner
- Velour Puff
- Cotton Swabs and/or tissues to clean up any misshaps
- dry washcloth or towel to clean off brushes between colors

Products mentioned:

Eyes - e.l.f Putty Eye Primer https://www.elfcosmetics.com/putty-eye-primer/300162.html?dwvar_300162_color=Sand

0h14m

Beginner Series - Beginner Complexion Tutorial

The second Tutorial for my Beginner Makeup series. I will show you how to use your foundation and concealer.

Beginner Makeup Starter Kit video: https://youtu.be/1cFveqE10k8
Beginner Eye Makeup Tutorial: https://youtu.be/OMPCTAq0C4A

Items needed to follow along:
Face - Tinted moisturizer and/or powder foundation
- Concealer
Tools - Your clean hands
- Small fluffy face brush

Products mentioned:
Face - Pixi H2O Skintint Foundation https://www.target.com/p/pixi-h20-skintint-foundation-1-18-fl-oz/-/A-54459925?preselect=14963195#lnk=sametab
L'Oreal Age Perfect Creamy Powder Foundation https://www.target.com/p/l-oreal-paris-age-perfect-creamy-pressed-powder-foundation-with-minerals-0-31oz/-/A-79419182?preselect=77606592#lnk=sametab
Maybelline Instant Age Rewind Concealer https://www.target.com/p/maybelline-instant-age-rewind-multi-use-concealer-medium-to-full-coverage-0-2-fl-oz/-/A-76581448?preselect=76151498#lnk=sametab

For a personal makeup lesson sign up here: www.katiepheneger.com/lessons

0h09m

Beginner Brow Tutorial

In this video I will show you the basics for filling in your brows with pencil and/or brow gel. This is a great place to start if you have never used brow product before. I highly recommend getting your brows shaped by a professional and then using these techniques to enhance your everyday look.

Beginner Makeup Kit Video: https://youtu.be/1cFveqE10k8
Beginner Eye Makeup Tutorial: https://youtu.be/OMPCTAq0C4A
Beginner Complexion Tutorial: https://youtu.be/77vgxlkTnd4

Items needed:
Brows - Tinted brow gel and/or Brow pencil in a shade to match hair color

Products mentioned:
e.l.f Wow Brow gel https://www.elfcosmetics.com/wow-brow-gel/200178.html?dwvar_200178_color=Taupe

0h10m

Beginner Blush/Bronzer Tutorial

In this video I show you how to use the face palette I recommended in my makeup kit video. I will talk about placement and application techniques. Play with color and placement and find what you like!

Beginner Makeup Kit Video: https://youtu.be/1cFveqE10k8
Beginner Eye Makeup Tutorial: https://youtu.be/OMPCTAq0C4A
Beginner Complexion Tutorial: https://youtu.be/77vgxlkTnd4
Beginner Brow Tutorial: https://youtu.be/HRfDo8F38W8

Beginner makeup kit items:
Face - Face palette with blush, bronzer, and highlighter
- (optional) translucent finishing powder or powder foundation
Tools - 2 brushes - Large fluffy face brush, Small fluffy face brush
- Velour Puff
- Towel/cloth for cleaning off brush

Products mentioned:
Physician's Formula Face Palette https://www.target.com/p/physicians-formula-holiday-baby-butter-trio-glow-face-palette-0-32oz/-/A-76506083#lnk=sametab
No7 Lift

0h08m

Beginner Lip Tutorial

In this video I will show you the sheer formula lipstick I mentioned in my makeup kit video. I will also show you how to apply lip color. :)

Beginner Makeup Kit Video: https://youtu.be/1cFveqE10k8
Beginner Eye Makeup Tutorial: https://youtu.be/OMPCTAq0C4A
Beginner Complexion Tutorial: https://youtu.be/77vgxlkTnd4
Beginner Brow Tutorial: https://youtu.be/HRfDo8F38W8
Beginner Blush/Bronzer Tutorial: https://youtu.be/lTKOa_rziDM

Beginner Makeup Kit Items:
Tinted lip balm or sheer formula lipstick
Cotton Swabs for clean up, if needed

Products Mentioned:
Burt's Bees Tinted Lip Balm https://www.target.com/p/burt-s-bees-tinted-lip-balm-0-15oz/-/A-52125227?preselect=21401933#lnk=sametab
Chapstick Total Hydration Lip Balm https://www.target.com/p/chapstick-scrub-pack-5ct/-/A-78424640#lnk=sametab
Revlon Super Lustrous Shine Lipstick https://www.target.com/p/revlon-super-lustrous-glass-shine-moisturizing-lipstick-0-11oz/-/A-79386081?preselect=76858379#lnk=sametab
e.l.f. Sheer Slick Lipstick https://www.elfcosmetics.com/sheer-slick-lipstick/300164.html?dwvar_300164_color=Grapefruit

0h16m

Eyeliner Tutorial

In this video I will explain eye liner placement for different eye shapes. These are general tips for things you can try on yourself to enhance your eyes. I you would more personal help you can sign up for a makeup lesson with me! :)
Make sure you subscribe so you can watch future videos about the different types of eyeliner. You can also check out the video on Liquid Eyeliner that I did.

Makeup Lessons www.katiepheneger.com/lessons

0h13m

Liquid Eyeliner Tutorial

Liquid eyeliner is such a fun, artistic makeup look, but it sure does take practice. In this tutorial I share my tips and tricks for applying liquid eyeliner. I'd love to know your tips for applying liquid eyeliner. Let me know down below.

If you would like more individualized help, I offer one-on-one makeup lessons. In an individual lesson you can get in depth help with whatever you are struggling with.

Get all the information and sign up for a lesson at www.katiepheneger.com/lessons

Products mentioned: (I do make a commision off these links. You are under no obligation to purchase.)
L'Oreal Lineur Intense
Revlon Colorstay Liquid Liner
Sorme Jetliner https://api.beautyscripts.com/consumer/shares/k_Gd_M39TFc
Pat McGrath Labs Perma Preciscion Liquid Eyeliner https://api.beautyscripts.com/consumer/shares/b46Oh5cBc5I
Vamp Stamp Eyeliner and Stamp Kit https://api.beautyscripts.com/consumer/shares/0R_YHgA-Sts
Make Up For Ever Aqua XL Ink Eyeliner https://api.beautyscripts.com/consumer/shares/25oRt1iWHMY

0h23m

Pencil Eyeliner Tutorial

In this video I will discuss pencil eyeliners, their different formulations, and how to use them. If you have any questions or comments, I'd love to hear from you. Comment down below or message me directly at [email protected]

Products mentioned:
MAC Eye Kohl https://api.beautyscripts.com/consumer/shares/tWDGmOLR0gA
Neutrigena Intense Gel Eyeliner https://api.beautyscripts.com/consumer/shares/Ap_BxvSni34
Urban Decay 24/7 Glide On Eye Pencil https://api.beautyscripts.com/consumer/shares/1NVDBi-TMpU
NYX Slide On Eye Pencil https://api.beautyscripts.com/consumer/shares/W_jd3S2V3wY
Make Up For Ever Artist Pencil https://api.beautyscripts.com/consumer/shares/oVg4c9dfw64
NYX Jumbo Eye Pencil https://api.beautyscripts.com/consumer/shares/D9IgU9HHWnA
Pixi Endless Shade Stick https://www.pixibeauty.com/collections/liner/products/endless-shade-stick
Wet n Wild Icon Kohl Eyeliner https://api.beautyscripts.com/consumer/shares/CkF86JUaMdM
Wayne Goss The Essential Eye Kohl Pencil https://www.beautylish.com/s/wayne-goss-the-essential-eye-kohl-pencil-rich-hazel
Urban Decay Grind House Sharpener https://api.beautyscripts.com/consumer/shares/39bFOIaky7A
Thrive Causemetics Brilliant Eye Brightener https://api.beautyscripts.com/consumer/shares/q6NxTASc7j0

0h18m

Cream/Gel Eyeliner Tutorial

In this video I talk about what cream/gel eyeliner is and how to use it. This are very versatile, long lasting products. You can find a wide variety at any price point and in many different colors. I mention a few of my favorites, but there are a lot out there to choose from. If you need any help or have questions please feel free to reach out to me.

Products mentioned:
Ben Nye MediaPRO Eye Definer https://camerareadycosmetics.com/products/ben-nye-mediapro-eye-definer
Tarteist Clay Paint Liner https://api.beautyscripts.com/consumer/shares/JbPdc42j9r0
Inglot AMC Eyeliner Gel https://camerareadycosmetics.com/collections/inglot-cosmetics/products/inglot-amc-eyeliner-gel
Stilazzi Borderline Intense Gel Liner https://www.frendsbeauty.com/stilazzi-borderline-smoky-quartz.html
L'Oreal Paris Infallible Lacquer Eyeliner https://api.beautyscripts.com/consumer/shares/QaFiGTLNMsQ

0h23m

Cake Eyeliner Tutorial

In this video I explain what cake eyeliner is and how to use it. It is a great, versatile, product that is a classic.
Product used in this video:
Besame Cake Mascara https://besamecosmetics.com/products/black-cake-mascara

To sign up for a personalized makeup lesson with me sign up here www.katiepheneger.com/lessons

0h13m

How to map your brows

In this video I will explain how to figure where your brows should start and stop. If you would like personalized help I am available for lessons virtually. You can sign up for a lesson here www.katiepheneger.com/lessons

0h18m

How To Use A Brow Stencil

In this video I will show you how to use eyebrow stencils. Below are the stencils I mention. Feel free to reach out if you have any questions.

Senna Form-A-Brow Stencils https://sennacosmetics.com/brushes-tools/brow/form-a-brow-stencil.html
Sorme Always Perfect Brow Kit https://sormestore.com/collections/brows/products/always-perfect-brow?variant=8423797358653
Anastasia Beverly Hills Eyebrow Stencils https://www.anastasiabeverlyhills.com/stencils/ABH01-11005.html
Alexis Vogel Brow Stencils https://makeupconnection.com/product/brow-stencils/
Fran Wilson Instant Brows Arched https://franwilson.com/products/fran-wilson-instant-brows-arched
Reusable Eyebrow Template with Strap shorturl.at/flpqD

Contact me:
email - [email protected]
lessons - www.katiepheneger.com/lessons
Instagram - www.instagram.com/kpheneger

0h20m

How To Remove Makeup

Ok, you put makeup on, now how do you take it off? Lemme explain.

I have very sensitive eyes and I have learned that gentle is best and not all makeup removers work for me. They can irritate, get in my eyes, or just plain don't work. This is what I have found works best for me and works best for my clients, too.

Products I like for removing my makeup. (Remember, you still may need to cleanse your skin with your face wash before continuing with the rest of your skin care routine.)

Cleansing oils and balms:
Sonia Roselli Beauty Japanese Cleansing Oil https://bit.ly/3ew9ey9 (affiliate link)
Clinique Take the Day Off Cleansing Balm https://www.ulta.com/take-day-off-cleansing-balm?productId=xlsImpprod11771009
Banila Co Clean It Zero 3-in-1 Cleansing Balm https://www.ulta.com/clean-it-zero-3-in-1-cleansing-balm?productId=pimprod2009043
Pixi Caroline Hirons Double Cleanse https://www.target.com/p/pixi-by-petra-caroline-hirons-double-cleanser-1-68-fl-oz/-/A-51183925#lnk=sametab

Eye makeup removers:
Lancome Bi-Facil Double-Action Gentle Oil-Free Eye Makeup Remover https://www.ulta.com/bi-facil-double-action-gentle-oil-free-eye-makeup-remover?productId=xlsImpprod3650064
Mary Kay Oil-Free Eye Makeup Remover https://www.marykay.com/en-us/products/skincare/concern/eye-care/mary-kay-oilfree-eye-makeup-remover-180101

Microfiber Washcloths:
The Original Makeup Eraser https://www.ulta.com/chic-black?productId=pimprod2011808
The Original Makeup Eraser 7-day Set (small size) https://www.